Peking University
U bevindt zich op: Home /About Asia /China /Beijing / Peking University

About Peking University (PKU)

Peking University (PKU) is a major Chinese research university located in Beijing, and a member of the C9 League. It is the first established modern national university of China, founded in 1898. By 1920 it had become a centre for progressive thought. Today, Peking University is frequently listed as one of the top universities in China by many domestic as well as international rankings. The university hosts approximately 2,000 international students annually. PKU is a national key university, consisting of 30 colleges and 12 departments, with 93 specialties for undergraduates, 2 specialties for the BSc’s, 199 specialties for MSc’s and 173 specialties for PhD’s.

In addition to academics, the university is renowned for its campus grounds and the beauty of its architecture. The campus of Peking University was originally located north of the Forbidden City, and was later moved to the former campus of Yenching University. Today, the main campus is in northwest Beijing – in Haidian district. PKU’s campus site is near the Summer Palace and the Old Summer Palace; the area is where many of Beijing’s most renowned gardens and palaces were built. 

This page is not updated anymore. To learn more about Peking University and search for study programmes in Asia, Europe and North America, visit BachelorsPortal, MastersPortal, PhDPortal or ShortCoursesPortal.