National Chiao Tung University
U bevindt zich op: Home /About Asia /Taiwan /Hsinchu / National Chiao Tung University

About National Chiao Tung University

National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) was originally founded in Shanghai, China in 1896 and re-established in Hsinchu, Taiwan in 1958 as a primary engineering and management research university. Today NCTU has become a comprehensive university consisting of nine colleges with 700 full-time faculty members and 14,000 students.

NCTU pursues academic excellence and natural talent to ensure its uniqueness. Its vision, to be the top university in the world, is hoped to be achieved by nurturing students’ abilities in leadership and innovation. Within the nine colleges, it offers over 100 undergraduate and graduate programs which cover a full spectrum of disciplines spanning science, technology, and humanities and boasts an AASCB-accredited management program that consistently ranks among the top five in Asia. The seven national research centers in emerging nano-electronics and systems, frontier photonics, intelligent information communications, interdisciplinary science, brain research, bioinformatics and biomedical electronics translational research dominate innovation and ground-breaking research. NCTU has established partnerships with prominent academics, industries, and research institutes around the world with more than 309 collaborative agreements aiming at faculty & student exchange, joint R&D and joint programs. Thanks to NCTU’s close proximity to the Hsinchu Science Park, NCTU provides students with opportunities to work with top high-tech companies. Approximately 65% of CEOs in high-tech companies in the Hsinchu Science Park are NCTU alumni. From 2006 to 2010, there were 336 patents granted and the technology transfer amount was over 13 million US dollars, both ranked number one among universities in Taiwan.  

This page is not updated anymore. To learn more about studying in Taiwan and to search for study programmes in Asia, Europe and North America, visit BachelorsPortal, MastersPortal, PhDPortal or ScholarshipPortal.